I’m the Final Boss!? – Chapter 1

What Kind of Situation is This?

Nnn, my head feels like lead.
All this light isn’t helping, so I’ll close my eyes to block out as much of it as I can.
Now, let’s think, what can I remember from before all this started?

That’s right.
There was a voice.
Thinking back on it, didn’t it say something like “reincarnating” before I blacked out?
I’m pretty sure it did, but what’s with that development?

More importantly, where had that voice come from?
I couldn’t see anything in that world of light, so why was there a voice?

Well, I can’t know what I don’t know.
It’s pointless to needlessly worry about it.

Anyway, about this situation I’m in.
It has to be a dream.
There’s no way it can be anything else.
It is definitely a stereotypical light novel setting.
I have to say though, this dream is pretty impressive for being able to use my love of light novels in such a way.
Honestly, if this wasn’t a dream, I’d probably be freaking out.

Regardless, I think I’ll play along with this game of yours for the time being, Dream.
Make no mistake though, when the time comes, I will break out of you.
I will not be kept here against my will.
Even if this situation is something that raises my tension.

Alrighty, now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, I suppose I need to actually start playing my role in this dream.
Which means, I need to open my eyes.
Since this seems to be following the stereotypical light novel situation, based on what that voice said earlier, I’ve probably reincarnated, so I’ll be a baby again.
So, the first thing I’ll need to do is confirm the setting of this story, and the path that I’ll be likely to follow.
I should be able to get this information based on the state of the house I’m in, and the clothing and status of my parents.

Alright, I should be well enough adjusted, so I slowly open my eyes.

Why does it hurt so much!?
There’s still a blinding light everywhere!
I should have had my eyes closed long enough for the light to settle down, right?

Ugu, this is painful.
Somebody … help me…

《Status confirmed: Deceased》
《[Corrupted Entry] executing》
《Body reformation process started》
《Body reformation process completed》
《Every basic ability has risen》
《[Cold Resistance Lv1] acquired》
《[Improved Vision Lv1] acquired》
《Restarting life processes》

Nnn, what happened?
The only thing I can remember is that painfully blinding light.
I remember I was in pain, but then everything went black.
I wonder what happened…

Wait, what’s this?
I instinctively had my eyes closed, but the light seems to have dimmed somewhat.
What could have caused that I wonder?

Well, if this was actually a situation like in the light novels, and it wasn’t just some dream of mine, there should be a skill called appraisal or something.
Maybe that’ll tell me why the light suddenly dimmed.
Speaking of appraisal though, sometimes there’s a menu that appears when someone thinks the word “status” in their mind instead.
No harm in trying I suppose.

Let’s see, so I just have to think the word right?
In that case…

Nothing happened.
Well, that’s alright.
There may still be an appraisal skill.
Alright, please don’t let me down on this one, Dream.

So this is one of those stories?

Uuu, I trusted you, and you let me down.
This was supposed to be my big dream adventure, so you should have implemented at least one of the systems.
You big meanie.
You got my hopes up for nothing.
How cruel can you be?

Haa, it’s no use complaining to Dream.
It’s not like I’ll get a response all of a sudden.
Then again, there was that voice back in the world of light, but I don’t think that was Dream.
Ugh, what’s with this confusing situation.
Aren’t light novels supposed to be simpler?

Anyway, enough of thinking about things I have no idea about.
More importantly, now that the painful light is gone, I can open my eyes.
You wouldn’t do something as cruel as waiting for me to open them now would you Dream?
That’s how you get hated you know~.

Ah, I keep putting it off.
Alright, here goes nothing.
On the count of three.
1 … 2 … 3 …


Wait, it’s still bright, but it doesn’t hurt?
Aw, so I wasted that reaction on nothing?
Be that way, see if I care, Dream.

Fuu, alright, calm down.
It’s okay, Dream is just cruel like that.
Anyway, don’t you have something more important to do, me?
Yes, you’re right, me.
It’s finally time to check my surroundings.
I’ve had my eyes open for a while now, but I haven’t really been paying attention to anything.

I look around.
What’s this situation?
This isn’t a light novel setting.
Dream, I knew you were cruel, but I never thought you were this cruel…

Why am I in the middle of nowhere!?
Huh, Dream?
Do you have an answer for me?
No, of course not.
You’re probably watching me flail around right now and laughing.

Uuu, how cruel.
What did I do to deserve this?
I mean sure, I wasn’t a perfect person in my past life, but it’s not like I committed any crimes.

Alright, the most important thing is calming down.
Breathe in and out, taking deep breaths, me.

Suu… Haa…
Suu… Haa…
Suu… Haa…

Mn, I feel better now.
In this state, I feel calm enough to fully investigate this abnormal situation.

Let’s see, first we check the status of my body.
Un, as expected … I’m a baby.
However… a certain piece is missing.
I imagine the only reason I’ve yet to pass out is because I’m in such a state of calmness.
Still, if I’m still going by the logic of light novels, then although it’s not that rare for a male to reincarnate as a female, I never expected that it would happen to me.

I suppose there’s nothing to be done about it now, but still … Dream, are you a pervert?

Haa, no, I need to stay calm.
If I react to every little thing, this story won’t get anywhere.

Anyway, let’s move on to what’s around me.

Well, at least I know why there was a painfully blinding light.
The only thing I can see around me is snow.
Well, there’s also quite a few trees around me, so I may be in a forest of some sort, but almost everything is covered in snow.

Wait a minute, if there’s snow everywhere, why don’t I feel that cold?
I mean sure, I still feel a little chilly, but it’s not as cold as it should be.
I wonder why that is?
The blanket I’m wrapped in doesn’t seem like it would be warm enough.

《Skill threshold reached. [Cold Resistance Lv1] has become [Cold Resistance Lv2]》

I somehow warmed up a little.
There’s still a slight chill in the air, but it’s definitely not as bad as before.

More importantly, I heard the voice again.
That distinctly genderless voice.
What did it say?
Something about cold resistance?
If so, I guess that would explain why I suddenly warmed up a bit.

W-wait a minute.
If that voice said what I think it did, and it actually did have an effect, then isn’t this a really cool situation?

This is just like a few of the novels I’ve read.
Gaining skills by doing certain actions or being exposed to certain elements, the kinds of stories where self-improvement is key.
Alright, I’ll forgive you for this, Dream.
After all, there still might be an appraisal skill out there somewhere.

Ah, but wait … what am I supposed to do now?


MainPrevious ChapterNext Chapter

32 thoughts on “I’m the Final Boss!? – Chapter 1”

  1. Wait, if he’s in the snow, why did he only die when he opened his eyes? Weird that he would complain about blinding light before the cold.

    Still, if they’re a final boss, this seems pretty open ended for what kind of life they’ll lead. I was expecting something a little more… determined.


    1. Well, it’s kinda like going from the tropics to the tundra, and all you’re wearing is a bathing suit. Basically, the MC didn’t notice the temperature since they were so cold. (If that makes any sense)
      Oh, and it’ll narrow down eventually.
      Can’t have it already starting in the first chapter, you know?

      Plus, I assumed that a baby’s eyes were still very sensitive, so the overwhelming amount of brightness as the sun reflected off the snow caused too much pain for the MC to handle.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. When I saw this novel on aho-updates, I thought “Hey, this is exactly the same title as that novel on RRL :D”
    Then I read the start of the prologue.
    Then I noticed your name.
    And I thought “Wait… This is that novel from RRL O_o”
    So after a few “WTF?”, I came to comment :p

    Well, “comment”
    I already commented back then on RRL (with my other pseudo), so I’m just going to ask:
    Are you rewriting it or just posting the chapter already done?
    Or are you completly stopping the RRL novel?
    And when will we get a new chapter on RRL?

    Also, congratulation for being hosted :D
    (Even if your name is far too short compared to the standard of this site :p)


    1. lol, thank you.
      To answer your questions, no.
      This is not a rewrite, Este was just kind enough to let me have some free space in his garage.
      I will not be stopping the progress on RRL, and I plan to have the story updated on my own blog, RRL, and Este’s site.
      So don’t worry, I’m not abandoning anyone.

      Also, I should have a new chapter up tomorrow.

      Liked by 3 people

  3. Well then. When the (now) she realizes that it isn’t a dream…hm.
    And I have big hopes for the gift, [Corrupted Entry] now! I wonder what [Goddess’s Blessing] will do, though~
    Thanks for the chapter, Pira!


  4. Just to confirm, the MC is a he-turned-she? Or did he undergo memory fragmentation and ‘forgot’ that he was a girl? Or maybe he ‘lost’ his gender from trying to recall his memories?


    1. The MC went from male to female, yes. However, I think of the MC more as a she who has memories of her past life, instead of a male that reincarnated into a new world. Of course, this doesn’t make any sense since the MC believes she is in a dream, but of course, sometimes you don’t notice the little things.


        1. You have a good point. I’m not rewriting them, so I might as well. I was going to be doing something at this moment though, which is why I hadn’t yet. Said thing hasn’t come out yet though, so might as well.

          Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

