I’m the Final Boss!? – Prologue

This Story is Starting Off Strangely…

I had always liked reading light novels.
Every time I read one, I always ended up fascinated by the story it told.

It wasn’t always the case, but I remember that the story was usually about a hero sent to another world who then goes on to defeat the one known as the demon king.
Of course, like I said, not all of the stories I read were like that, but regardless of their content, I enjoyed each and every one of them.

However, I, like many others that read light novels, thought that such stories couldn’t possibly be true.
After all, these stories are brought forth from the imagination of the author’s mind.
The things that happen in these novels can’t be true.
These light novels are fiction.
By definition, these stories aren’t true…

Anyway, I don’t remember when I got here, but somehow I find myself stuck in a world of darkness.
I’ve tried countless times to move my body, but each time I try, I feel like I’m losing something important.
I can’t really remember what it is that I’ve lost, but I don’t worry too much because everything still seems the same.

Sometimes though, if I don’t move my body around, and just let myself float around in this space, I end up thinking that it’s not so bad.
It’s surprisingly relaxing to let myself just float around.
I usually end up sleeping a lot when I do let myself go though.
Speaking of, I feel like taking a nap.

What’s that?
You think I should be panicking more?
Well, I hate to break it to you, but I’ve been in this state for countless years.

Then again, I don’t actually know if I’ve been here that long since I don’t have a clock.
Plus, with all this darkness there’s definitely no way for me to see the day-night cycle (if there even is one).
Who knows though, maybe I’ve only been here for five minutes.

Regardless of the time spent, I’ve come to terms with my current situation, so there’s no need for me to panic.

Besides, what would I do if I started panicking
There’s literally nothing I can do right now.
I can’t move my body, and it’s not like there’s some godly being here that I can complain to.
Honestly, I don’t even know if I can actually talk.
So, in that case, what purpose would panicking solve?

Mhm, I didn’t even panic when the pulsating started.
It was incredibly strange, I’ll give it that.
It felt similar to the beat of a heart, but that doesn’t make any sense.
I suppose none of this actually makes any sense though.
Of course, that’s the main reason I’ve just ignored it.
Even when it started to beat faster, I just saw it as something from a dream.

Ah, there it goes again.
It’s gotten faster again.
You can do it!
I don’t exactly know what it is, but whatever it is, I believe in you!


Did I do that?
I don’t think I did, but it’s too much of a coincidence that the pulsating got much faster after I told it encouraging words.

Did you become happy now that I’ve finally noticed you?


Wait a minute, now there’s a light?!

Oh yeah.
I forgot my most important rule.
This doesn’t involve me.
I’m merely a bystander in this place.
A fly on the wall that none should notice.

Fuu, alright.
I’ve managed to settle down at least.
Now, let’s see what this light is about.
I have a feeling it’s connected to the pulsating though.

This is definitely strange.
There’s something about the light that feels off to me, but I can’t place it.
However, it feels like I’m being drawn in.
It’s not like I can resist the pull though, so I guess I’m finally moving with purpose in this world.

I wonder what’ll happen when I reach it.
Will the darkness be replaced by the light and I wake up to find that I’ve been in a dream this entire time?
Although that would be nice, I highly doubt it.
Nothing is that convenient.

Haa, I’m almost there.
Now that I’m this close, I’m starting to get a bad feeling about this light.
It’s too late to try and resist though.
Even if I could manage to move around, I don’t know how to effectively move around in this environment, so I’d still get pulled in regardless.
Oh well, even if something bad awaits me after this light, I’ll still be out of this darkness.

It was fun while it lasted old friend, but this bird can not be caged.
I may not know what awaits me, and whatever it is, it has a high chance of being something dangerous, but at least I’ll be out of here.
Sayonara, and may we never meet again!

With those arguably cruel final words to the world of darkness, I finally entered the light.

Um … now I’m in a world of light?
Is there anyone else in this world, or is it just me again?
Ugh, I just want something to happen…

《Suitable candidate found》
《Commencing reincarnation sequence》
《Destination confirmed》

… eh.
This, isn’t this one of those situations that I’m always reading about in my light novels?
No, but that can’t be.
Such a thing isn’t possible.
It was always fict…

《Reincarnation success confirmed》
《Beginning gift bestowal》
《System has been corrupted》
《Unknown process》
《Attempting to resolve the error》
《Error resolved》
《Confirming gift status due to error》
《Gift confirmed bestowed under system error》
《Performing gift verification》
《Expected gift: Goddess’s Blessings》
《Actual gift: [corrupted entry], Goddess’s Blessings》
《Expected gift confirmed bestowed》
《Corruption deemed negligible》
《Continuing operations as normal》

MainNext Chapter

32 thoughts on “I’m the Final Boss!? – Prologue”

  1. Being suddenly woken up to endless darkness, with no escape, with no voice and only your mind to keep you sane. That is hell, the boredom would drive you insane?! HOW could you not panic? or cry? also if that happens the last thing I’ll be thinking about is light novels and fictions lol. I would probably think I have died in my sleep or perhaps a bomb went off instantly killing me. Wouldn’t you at least think this is some sort of punishment for all your sins? All your mistakes? A special place in hell for you. In darkness filled with regret and sorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nope. You’ll find that our protagonist is a bit of an airhead.
      After all, if you know in your heart that all that is just a dream, although you’ll still be frightened, it won’t be to such a level.
      That’s essentially how our MC is thinking right now.
      (Oh, but it does drive people insane~)

      Liked by 1 person

    2. The protagonist is literally pretending it had nothing to do with him. If anything, I’d say it’s similar to split personalities, so he did go kinda crazy. Also, he might’ve thought that at first and then a few centuries later (he said countless years have went by) he was entirely spent. I think it’s a given that he’d focus on what he can remember in order to fill the years.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Basically, MC winds up in another world, and this story is the adventure of that MC. Protag is a bit too airheaded to be a machine master though.
      Also, the title (I’m the Final Boss!?) may give some indication of the story.


    1. Oh, the author from royal road legends is the one who posted this, I thought this was a translation…
      So you managed to make a friend (Or an inn owner? Garage inn owner?) to advertise your fiction huh.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I actually knew Este before I knew about RRL. However, you caught me. I just want my story to be available in a multitude of locations, so that you can read it wherever you like.


What do you think?

