I’m the Final Boss!? – A – 1

A New Perspective?

This is a side-story from a different character’s perspective.
Regular chapters will always have the word “chapter” in the title.

When I first regained my sense of self, darkness was my only companion.
My entire world comprised of a never ending darkness.
However, it was comforting.

I could never stay there though.
It was just a feeling I had.
Like I wasn’t supposed to be there.

I did eventually manage to leave, but I can’t say for sure how long it actually took.
There was no concept of time in that place.

All I could do there was let my consciousness drift.
I had no physical body to explore with.
If I hadn’t escaped, I might have gone insane from the boredom.

Luckily for me though, a light appeared in that darkness.
It happened so suddenly, that I froze up in surprise though.
However, deep down, I knew that my best chance of getting out of there was right in front of me.
So, I took it.

I directed my consciousness towards that faint light, hoping for something to change.
Then, once I reached that light, I held on with all of my might.
Again, I didn’t have a physical body, so I couldn’t actually hold on.
It was willpower that I used.
And I had to use every ounce of my willpower to hold on, because as soon as I touched it, the light started moving at a speed I couldn’t follow.

I don’t really remember what happened next though.
I’m pretty sure I passed out then.
Regardless, the important thing is that when I woke up, I was no longer in a world of darkness.

This was a world of white.
It was only after my senses had fully adjusted that I realized I was lying in snow.

Something had once again changed though.
Although I had a physical body, it was not the kind of body I was used to.
I could recall having a human body long before I was merely a consciousness, but I could not identify the creature that I was now.

I had four legs, and was covered in white fur.
Well, it seems my dream of becoming a spider, like the main character of a certain other story I know, won’t come to pass.
Anyway, I need to get up.
I can’t just lie here forever.

It took some effort, and almost every muscle in my new body is screaming at me, but I eventually manage to stand up.
Luckily I didn’t have to deal with the cold while I was doing it.
This warm coat is definitely convenient … and very warm.
I already can’t imagine not having this fur.

Now that I think about it, wouldn’t it have been a bad situation if I had been there in human form?
Wouldn’t I have died?
Huh, I suppose it’s a blessing I’m like this then.

Anyway, I can’t stay here thinking to myself forever.
I need to move.
This place doesn’t feel all that safe.

Before I can leave the area though, a monster suddenly makes its appearance.
And here I had been thinking I was somewhat lucky.
Alright, let’s play, monster.
I won’t go down without a fight.

I move first, to take as much of an advantage over the creature as I can.
The creature, looking at me almost in curiosity, is still not making any moves.
Overconfidence will be your downfall.

I run towards the creature until we’re close enough for my attack to begin.
While watching the monster for any movements, I leap towards it, with my mouth ready to bite down.
Now that I think about it, how did I know to bite down with my teeth?
Regardless, I end up tackling the creature, and bite down on a portion of its body.
I don’t know what portion, but from the sounds it’s making, the creature is in pain.

I feel the creature’s blood pour out from its wounds, and flow into my mouth.
Hmm, I don’t know why, but I feel energized now.
Was I always this kind of character?
I suppose it doesn’t matter this late.


From behind, I feel pain.
Did something hit me?
I quickly spin around to identify my new adversary.
Of course, I keep the first creature in my mouth so that it can’t join the other one and hurt me.

Well, I should have expected this, but it’s another creature.
It looks the same as the one that’s currently held by my teeth.
No mercy for you either, sorry.
I just don’t take kindly to those that would do me harm.

I tilt my head, and throw the creature in my mouth towards the other one.
Then, while it’s distracted by the bleeding body of its friend, I run around behind it, and take it by surprise.
I could almost feel its despair as my teeth bit down and it could no longer escape.
At this rate, I may get addicted to such a feeling.

Anyway, it’s only when I feel the last droplets of life fall from the second creature, that I let it go.
I don’t know what they are, but they did taste delicious.
Hmm … thinking about it, I suppose I am pretty hungry.
I wonder if these guys are safe to eat.
Their blood seemed to be fine anyway.

《Experience threshold reached. You are now Level 2》
《Every basic ability has risen》
《Access to Rank 1 knowledge: Granted》

What was that voice?
It sounded like it was coming directly from my own mind.
Nn, I don’t like it.
However, what did it say?
I reached Level 2?

Just by killing two rabbits?
How weak.

Wait a minute.
Didn’t I not know what they were just moments ago?
I wonder if that’s a part of that rank 1 knowledge thing.

Now that I think about it, aren’t I also a wolf?
How could I not realize such a thing?
Uuu, I’m such an idiot.

Ah, but this is no time to feel depressed.
I need to get out of here before anything else arrives.
Blood does make for a pretty good bait.
I don’t want to be the reward the other creatures find though.

With such thoughts in my head, I pick a random direction, and start running.
I don’t know where this road will take me, but I’ll see it through to the end.

Oh, and there’s definitely something off about this world.
After all, why does it work like a game!?

Author’s Notes:
I know I said this chapter would be a chapter that would explain more of the world.
As I set about writing it, this happened.
So … um … my apologies.
Don’t hurt me.

MainPrevious ChapterNext Chapter

20 thoughts on “I’m the Final Boss!? – A – 1”

  1. O_O … I… LOVE THIS! Mainly due to the Kumo Desu ga, Nani ka? reference. I mean, I did like the story before and was curious where thigns were going… BUT, this just now confirms everything for me.

    Now I understand why the narration was so familiar to the one in Kumo Desu ga, Nani ka?(even more so from the parts of the story when the female mc had multiple minds at once).

    The author of this story… is a fan of “Kumo Desu ga, Nani ka?”… a fellow worshipper of the grand spider goddess Shiraori-sama!

    At first, I was onyl trying this series out(since there were only 2 chapters and the prologue(as well as chapter 12 for some reason…lol), then, when I finished chapter 2, I looked at my emails, and saw that chapter 2 and 3 just got posted… and now upt o chapter 12. Even then, I still only intended to catch up and then make my real decision of following this series or not… And this chapter just made me decide to stay with this series.

    Thank you very much Pira for translating it.

    Wait… Are you writing it or translating it? You’re not classified as a translator of this Kingdom of Oniichanyamete, and it’s written in your bio that you write stuff from time to time…

    So, are you the author of this series? If so, I love you and HAIL SHIRAORI-SAMA!

    Liked by 3 people

      1. Let
        cheesecake = story

        You just wrote a cheesecake that is very worth it! Just my type of cheesecake..

        You are cheesecakefully rated 11/10 (y)

        And I have high hopes on this cheesecake

        And cheesecake of this kind are rare to be found… So the hype is real on this one!!! *^* thank you very much author sama!


  2. Thanks!
    How often you update this work? After this 10 chapters I mean.
    Aaand Here’s more cat!

    The smallest wildcat today is the Black-footed cat. The females are less than 20 inches (50 cm) long and can weigh as little as 2.5 lbs (1.2 kg).


What do you think?

