I’m the Final Boss!? – Chapter 7

My Time to Shine

Today’s the day we head into town so that I can get an appraisal.
Omega wolfie won’t trust me until we’ve done that for some reason.
I’ve already explained this to you many times, it’s because you hid the fact that you could walk from her. {xxx}
The ability to talk really couldn’t have been helped in that situation, but it doesn’t help either. {xxx}
And I’ve already told you that I have no idea what you mean.
Haa, when will you and I ever get on the same page?
Fuu, at this rate? {xxx}
Never. {xxx}

Any~way, if I look at this positively, then isn’t this situation actually a good thing?
I mean, think about it…
This is the first time I’ll be going outside the cave in nearly two weeks!
W-well, besides yesterday’s incident.
However, how~ever, that doesn’t really count.
All I really saw is the forest anyway.
I want to see a town!

I wonder if the town will have the stereotypical adventurer’s guild?
Ahhh, it would be so nice if it did!
I don’t know if you’re in a position to wonder about such things though. {xxx}
What do you mean?
… {xxx}
Nothing. {xxx}
Just forget I said anything. {xxx}
I swear, sometimes I think you do this on purpose… {xxx}

Ignoring that last bit, it seems it’s finally time to leave.
Omega wolfie has been avoiding me this entire time, but she’s also been staring at me constantly.
I know she doesn’t trust me, but it kinda hurts that she’s being so cold to me.
Uu-un, at least regular wolfie tried to act normally around me.
She was still a little cautious around me though…
Uuu, I wish I had never gone out to play!

Omega wolfie and regular wolfie start moving towards the entrance of the cave.
I guess I’m supposed to follow them … no questions asked?
U-umu, no, I expected this.
I-I won’t cry.
It’s moments like these when I need to remain strong!

… {xxx}
Just let me take over until we get there. {xxx}
It’s better to cry in peace, without them watching you. {xxx}
Y-you’d do that, for me?
Fufu, of course. {xxx}
We’re one and the same, after all. {xxx}
If it ever hurts too much, and becomes too much to bear, just let me take over. {xxx}
If it’s me … they’ll be the ones that end up crying. {xxx}
W-well, I don’t really understand what you mean by that, but okay.
I’ll leave it to you.

– Switches to {xxx}’s perspective –

Alright, while Alice is recovering, I’ll be following these two distrustful wolves.
Tch, making her cry… unforgivable.
If it wouldn’t make her cry even harder than she is now, I’d teach these two a lesson in respect.
Wolves have alphas and the like, right?
E~h, then again, since it’s the death penalty for making Alice cry, would they live long enough to learn the proper respect?
Ehehe, I doubt they’d even survive a few pokes.
When did I start drooling?

Hmph, I better catch up to those two.
Not even checking to make sure I’m with them, how arrogant.
Can’t I just kill them already?
No no, I can’t.
Alice would never forgive me.
Ah, but what if she never found out it was me?
Hmm, it’s tempting, but no.
I can’t risk it.

I catch up to the wolves as quickly as I can.
It’s highly doubtful that anything troublesome will appear during the appraisal, but I have to actually get there first.
Besides, I have a feeling that if I lag too far behind, the taller wolf will just use it as an excuse to attack.

《Skill threshold reached. [Agility Lv2] has become [Agility Lv3]》

Hah, even better.
However, for the skill to have leveled this easily…
Tch, that distrustful wolf, you’re trying to make me fall behind aren’t you?
Fufu, you’ll only have a more difficult time now.
Besides, I’ve already died twice you know?
This body’s basic stats are nowhere near as pathetic as a normal baby’s.
If you add the bonus from [Agility Lv3] to those stats, then of course it’s easy for me to keep up at this pace.

. . . Fufu, I understand now.
All I have to do is break your pride.
I don’t have to touch you all.
Heh… hehe… hahaha!
I wonder, will you become an excellent plaything for Alice?
Of course, I’ll have to thoroughly break you first~

Toy takes off running, ignoring the me that’s trying to be nice.
How rude, but if that’s your game, then I can also play!

Following right on her heels, I take off running as well.
I don’t know what the younger wolf is doing, but at the moment I don’t care.
I’ve already decided to break Toy first.

. . .

We tied.
Agility did go up another level in the process, so I guess it’s a win, but I don’t feel good about it.

Anyway, we made it to town pretty quickly, so we’re waiting for the younger wolf in silence.
At least I know I’m faster than her with these stats.
Fuu, if I had died only once more, I definitely would have beaten Toy though.

Ah, that’s right!
I wonder what Alice is doing.
Is she still crying?
N-no! {Alice}
Shut up, idiot! {Alice}
Fufu, just hearing you again is healing to me.
Never stop being you, Alice.
I-I won’t? {Alice}
At least I don’t plan on it. {Alice}

Well, disregarding that, will you be alright when the regular wolfie gets here, Alice?
U-un, I think so. {Alice}
I’m tired.
I just want to hand control back over to you at this point.

Hm? {Alice}
What happened? {Alice}
Oh, nothing too important.
Fufu, I’m just a bit tired.
E-eh? {Alice}
Aah, okay. {Alice}
You had a rough time with those two didn’t you? {Alice}
Fufu, not as bad as you’ve had I suspect.
U-uuu, you meanie~ {Alice}

Oh, it seems the other one is finally here.
So, are you ready?
N-nn, as ready as I’ll ever be. {Alice}
I’m a bit nervous, but I’m also excited to see my status! {Alice}
Fufu, just be sure to enjoy it.

Eh? {Alice}
What do you mean? {Alice}

Author’s Notes:
Sorry that there wasn’t much action this chapter.
{xxx} has started showing off a bit more of her personality though, so that’s good … right?

Looking back, I suppose I should have elaborated on the origin of our protagonist a little more than I did.
However, I decided that such an explanation would come later in the story as it’s a bit important to the plot.
Oh well, live and learn I guess.

MainPrevious ChapterNext Chapter

13 thoughts on “I’m the Final Boss!? – Chapter 7”

  1. i have now reached the point where i spend more time laughing about the behaviour in the story than reading it, well done.


  2. Thousand thanks!!!
    And as always, cats.

    Foods that should not be given to cats include onions, garlic, green tomatoes, raw potatoes, chocolate, grapes, and raisins. Though milk is not toxic, it can cause an upset stomach and gas. Tylenol and aspirin are extremely toxic to cats, as are many common houseplants. Feeding cats dog food or canned tuna that’s for human consumption can cause malnutrition.


What do you think?

